RoK President concludes three-nation ASEAN tour

President of the Republic of Korea (RoK) Moon Jae-in (Source: Yonhap/TTXVN)

Seoul (VNA) – President of the Republic of Korea Moon Jae-in returned
home on March 16, concluding his week-long trip to three Association of
Southeast Asian (ASEAN) nations.

During his trip, President Moon had meetings with Sultan of Brunei Hassanal
Bolkiah, Malaysian Prime Minister Mahathir Mohamad and Cambodian Prime Minister
Hun Sen.

At their talks, the two sides pledged to promote cooperation in various areas
such as energy, infrastructure and technology.

The RoK side expressed hope for greater cooperation with ASEAN.

During his trip, Moon also attended economic forums of businesses.

The RoK has been pushing its New Southern Policy designed to cement largely relations
with the 10-member Association of Southeast Asian Nations (ASEAN). The grouping
is among the RoK’s important partners due to its growth potential, rich
resources and growing diplomatic influence.

ASEAN groups Brunei, Cambodia, Indonesia, Laos, Malaysia, Myanmar, the
Philippines, Singapore, Thailand and Vietnam.-VNA

Your comments about this article …